An independent review platform for GLP-1 compounding pharmacies

Nurx Review

Women's-health telehealth with oral GLP-1 options from $60/mo

Brand NameCompoundedWomens Health

Independently researched · Last reviewed August 3, 2026

Quick Summary

$79
One-time consult fee
$79/mo
Ongoing care
$60–$329
Oral medication, monthly cash
Pharmacy
Pickup for injectables

Regulatory status of compounded GLP-1s

The FDA declared the semaglutide shortage resolved in February 2025, and on April 30, 2026 proposed to exclude semaglutide, tirzepatide and liraglutide from the 503B bulks list — finding no clinical need for outsourcing facilities to compound them from bulk drug substance. Compounded GLP-1 availability has become unstable, and some platforms have withdrawn these products entirely. Ask any provider on what basis your specific prescription is being compounded.

Read the full regulatory timeline →

Overview

Nurx built its reputation in birth control and women's health and has extended into weight management. Its structure is unusual: a one-time $79 medical consult fee, then $79 per month for ongoing care, with medication handled separately depending on which route you take.

Where Nurx is genuinely competitive is oral medication. Its cash pricing for oral treatment plans runs $60–$329 per month depending on the medications prescribed, and Nurx notes that insurance may be usable for orals. Its published oral formulations include semaglutide with B6 and B12, and semaglutide with glycine.

Where it is not competitive is branded injectables. Nurx is upfront that if you are prescribed a branded GLP-1 pen you pick it up and pay at a local pharmacy, with pricing typically starting around $1,000/mo, and it quotes Wegovy from about $1,300 and Mounjaro from about $1,000 for a one-month supply without coverage. Nurx is not sourcing a discount for you there — it is prescribing, and you pay retail.

That makes Nurx best understood as a low-friction prescribing and care relationship rather than a medication discount channel. If you want a branded injectable, pairing a cheaper prescribing visit with NovoCare or LillyDirect will cost far less.

How Nurx Works

Medications Offered

  • Oral semaglutide with B6 and B12 (compounded)
  • Oral semaglutide with glycine (compounded)
  • Wegovy (semaglutide injection, brand)
  • Mounjaro (tirzepatide injection, brand)

Both. Nurx publishes compounded oral semaglutide formulations and prescribes branded injectables that you fill at a retail pharmacy. Compounded products are not FDA-approved finished drug products.

Program Details

Consultation process
Asynchronous online medical review, charged as a one-time $79 medical consult fee, followed by $79/mo ongoing care.
Eligibility
Determined by the prescribing clinician; specific criteria are not published on the pricing pages.
Provider involvement
Ongoing care is covered by the $79/mo fee; Nurx's model is largely asynchronous.
Lab requirements
Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
Pharmacy fulfillment
Branded injectables are picked up and paid for at a local pharmacy of your choice. Oral formulations are supplied through Nurx.
Shipping
Not stated for weight management on the pages we reviewed.
Support services
Ongoing care and provider support included in the $79/mo fee.

Nurx Pricing

Prices below are what Nurx published on its own site as of August 3, 2026. Pricing in this category changes often — confirm current rates before you buy.

Plan or itemPriceNotes
Medical consult$79 one-time
Ongoing care$79/mo
Oral treatment plan (cash)$60 – $329/moDepends on medications prescribed; insurance may be usable
Branded GLP-1 injectionFrom ~$1,000/moPaid at your local pharmacy, not to Nurx
Wegovy (1-month supply)From ~$1,300
Mounjaro (1-month supply)From ~$1,000

Fees, Billing and Policies

Membership fee
$79/mo ongoing care fee, plus a one-time $79 medical consult fee.
Medication fees
Separate. Orals are $60–$329/mo cash; branded injectables are paid at the pharmacy at retail prices.
Cancellation policy
Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
Refund policy
Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
Insurance
Nurx indicates insurance may be usable for oral medications. For branded injectables, pricing quoted assumes no coverage.
HSA / FSA
Not stated on the pages we reviewed.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Genuinely low-cost oral pathway starting at $60/mo cash
  • Established, well-reviewed telehealth brand with a large patient base
  • Transparent about branded injectable costs rather than hiding them
  • Insurance may be usable for oral medications
  • Low, flat care fees rather than dose-linked pricing

Cons

  • No discount on branded injectables — you pay retail at your pharmacy (~$1,000+/mo)
  • Two separate fees ($79 consult plus $79/mo) before any medication cost
  • Largely asynchronous care rather than live visits
  • Shipping, labs, cancellation, refund and HSA/FSA policies are not published

Who It May Be Best For

Patients who want an oral weight-loss medication route at genuinely low cash cost, or existing Nurx patients who want weight management added to an established care relationship.

Limitations

  • Not a cost-saving channel for branded injectables
  • Compounded oral products are not FDA-approved
  • Limited published policy detail

Alternatives to Nurx

  • Midi HealthSublingual compounded GLP-1 with no membership fee
  • WillowCompounded oral tablets bundled into a flat monthly price
  • NovoCare PharmacyFar cheaper route to branded semaglutide

Still comparing? See our best online GLP-1 providers and cheapest GLP-1 programs rankings.

Nurx FAQs

How much does Nurx weight management cost?

A one-time $79 medical consult fee plus $79/mo for ongoing care. Oral medication plans run $60–$329/mo cash; branded injectables are paid separately at your pharmacy.

Does Nurx offer cheap Ozempic or Wegovy?

No. Nurx prescribes branded injectables but you pick them up and pay at a local pharmacy, with pricing typically starting around $1,000/mo without coverage.

Can I use insurance with Nurx?

Nurx indicates insurance may be usable for oral medications. Its branded injectable pricing assumes no coverage.

What oral options does Nurx offer?

Nurx publishes compounded oral semaglutide formulations including semaglutide with B6 and B12, and semaglutide with glycine.

Sources for This Review

Every figure and policy above was taken from the pages below on August 3, 2026. Where a company does not publish something, this review says so rather than estimating.

Medical Disclaimer

This review is for general information only and is not medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious potential risks and are not appropriate for everyone. Talk to a licensed healthcare professional about your own medical history before starting, stopping, or changing any treatment, and never disregard professional medical advice because of something you read here. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Pricing, availability, and company policies change frequently — verify current details directly with the provider.

We may earn a commission from some links on this page. See our affiliate disclosure and review methodology.

Date reviewed: August 3, 2026

Nurx at a Glance

Medication type
Compounded and brand-name
Membership fee
$79/mo ongoing care fee, plus a one-time $79 medical consult fee.
Insurance
Nurx indicates insurance may be usable for oral medications. For branded injectables, pricing quoted assumes no coverage.
HSA / FSA
Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
Visit Nurx

Our Top Pick: For transparent compounded GLP-1 pricing with a dedicated patient-success team, we recommend CoreAge Rx.

Visit CoreAge Rx →

Compare Nurx against every other option

We track pricing, medication type, fees and policies across dozens of GLP-1 providers.