Semaglutide is the active ingredient in Ozempic, Wegovy and Rybelsus, and it is the most widely prescribed GLP-1 for weight loss in the United States. For several years the only affordable route to it was compounded semaglutide, prepared by compounding pharmacies during the FDA-declared shortage.
That shortage ended in February 2025, and the economics flipped. Novo Nordisk's own NovoCare Pharmacy now sells FDA-approved Wegovy and Ozempic direct to patients from $149 a month for the pill and $199 for the pen. Compare that against a compounded platform charging $199 for medication plus a $75 membership, and the approved drug is not just competitive — it is often cheaper and unquestionably better characterized.
Compounded semaglutide still has a place: it is available at genuinely low prices from platforms like Alloy ($70) and Polly ($135), it comes in oral and sublingual formats that Novo does not sell cheaply, and some patients want microdosing regimens no manufacturer offers. But it is no longer the default answer, and any ranking that still treats it as one is out of date.
One important note on compounded semaglutide's regulatory status: with the shortage resolved, several telehealth companies have stopped offering it entirely. Sesame states compounded semaglutide is not currently available on its platform, and QuickMD states it is no longer available due to FDA regulations. Availability in this segment is genuinely unstable.
How we ranked these
- Real cost per month at a therapeutic dose, including membership fees
- Whether the medication is FDA-approved or compounded, and how clearly that is disclosed
- Whether the price stays flat as you titrate toward 2.4 mg
- Availability of oral, sublingual and microdose formats
- Whether insurance, HSA or FSA can be used
- Whether the source pharmacy or manufacturer is named
We do not rank on star ratings for these providers because we do not collect verified patient reviews for them. Rankings reflect published pricing, fee structure, policy transparency and medication type only. See our full methodology and affiliate disclosure.
The ranking
Why it ranks here: The clear winner on substance. FDA-approved Wegovy or Ozempic from $149/mo (pill) or $199/mo (pen), free home delivery, no membership, as little as $25/mo with commercial coverage and $50/mo Medicare Bridge pricing. You supply the prescription.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Both self-pay and insurance routes are supported.
Why it ranks here: The cheapest all-in compounded semaglutide, joint-first with Cora Health and Trimi at $99 — and unlike most of the field that $99 covers 0.25 mg through 2.5 mg, so nothing changes as you titrate. No membership, no auto-rebill, no subscription, consultation and free cold-chain shipping included, full refund if the provider declines. Compounded rather than FDA-approved, no insurance or stated HSA/FSA, and it will not tell you which pharmacy fills it unless you ask.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Not accepted.
Why it ranks here: Compounded semaglutide from $70/mo is the lowest medication price we found anywhere — though the $99/mo membership makes the real floor about $169. Best for midlife women who want physician-led care with brand-name options in the same program.
- Membership:
- $99/mo, with $50 off the first month for new customers using code STARTGLP1.
- Insurance:
- Not stated on the weight page.
Why it ranks here: $99 compounded semaglutide with every dose at the same price, free overnight shipping and 24/7 provider messaging — the cheapest flat compounded semaglutide we found, and it stays $99 all the way to 2.4 mg.
- Membership:
- No separate fee.
- Insurance:
- Not stated.
Why it ranks here: $135 compounded semaglutide at the same price for every dose, free next-day air shipping, no membership, and named 503A pharmacies. The strongest documented pure-compounded value once you account for titration.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- No insurance needed; Polly operates on a self-pay basis.
Why it ranks here: $99–$175 all-inclusive from a LegitScript-certified platform, with physician review in under 24 hours, delivery in under three days and no membership fee.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- No insurance needed.
Why it ranks here: A flat $149.99/mo covering every dose from 0.25 mg to 2.5 mg, month-to-month with no lock-in, plus a $139.99 microdose maintenance tier for patients who have reached goal weight.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Not stated.
Why it ranks here: Compounded semaglutide from $99/mo on a $49 membership, but the real draw is that it will pursue insurance coverage for brand-name semaglutide first. Only available in CA, FL, NY and TX.
- Membership:
- $49/mo for self-pay patients; $9 for the first month when paying with insurance.
- Insurance:
- Yes — Shapely's core model is pursuing insurance coverage for brand-name GLP-1s, listing oral Wegovy, Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound, Mounjaro, Foundayo and Contrave as insurance-accepted.
Why it ranks here: $159 for month one rising to $249 at 1.7 mg and above, with the entire ladder published so you can model true annual cost. No membership fee and written cancellation terms.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Coby states it is not in network with any insurance company and does not accept insurance as payment.
Why it ranks here: Compounded GLP-1 at $199/mo month-to-month, dropping to $99/mo on a 12-month plan, with no membership fee and named 503B pharmacy partners. Best if you are willing to prepay.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Not stated.
Why it ranks here: The best non-injectable route: compounded sublingual GLP-1 from $164 per 4-week supply with shipping included and no membership fee, prescribed by menopause specialists.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Midi is in-network with most PPO plans for visits.
Why it ranks here: Brand-name Wegovy or Ozempic injections at $349/mo through Costco Pharmacy, or the Wegovy pill from $149/mo, on a program subscription from $59/mo that includes labs. No compounded option.
- Membership:
- The weight loss program subscription itself, from $59/mo annual or $99/mo month-to-month.
- Insurance:
- Not stated for the weight loss program.
Why it ranks here: Compounded semaglutide microdoses at $199/mo or standard at $299/mo on a $49 membership, with no extra fee for dose changes and 503B-sourced medication.
- Membership:
- $49/mo, covering ongoing care support.
- Insurance:
- Cash-pay only.
Why it ranks here: A flat $129/mo Microdose GLP-1 Protocol across all four variants, or standard compounded semaglutide at $149/mo, from licensed 503A pharmacies with no membership fee. Note that microdosing is an off-label regimen.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Not stated.
Why it ranks here: The FDA-approved Wegovy oral pill at $149/mo cash — or as little as $25 for eligible insured customers — with no monthly or sign-up fees and same-day delivery in many areas.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Amazon Pharmacy states it accepts most insurance plans.
Also considered
- Rixa Health — $195–$310 per cycle with the full ladder published and the visit included, and some levels supply five weeks rather than four.
- Aspire Health — Publishes compounded semaglutide per vial ($129–$567) alongside brand-name Wegovy pricing, so you can compare routes within one provider.
- Nurx — Compounded oral semaglutide formulations from $60/mo cash, but $79 consult plus $79/mo care fees apply on top.
- QuickMD — No longer offers compounded semaglutide, but a $99 consult is the cheapest way to get the prescription NovoCare requires.
Frequently asked questions
Where is the cheapest place to get semaglutide?
For FDA-approved semaglutide, NovoCare Pharmacy at $149/mo for the pill or $199/mo for the pen — as little as $25/mo with commercial insurance that covers GLP-1s. For compounded semaglutide, Alloy's $70/mo medication price is the lowest we found, though its $99 membership makes the real floor about $169.
Is compounded semaglutide legal now that the shortage has ended?
The FDA declared the semaglutide shortage resolved in February 2025, which changed what compounders are permitted to prepare. Several platforms have responded by withdrawing compounded semaglutide entirely — Sesame states it is not currently available, and QuickMD states it is no longer available due to FDA regulations. Others continue to offer it. Availability is unstable, so confirm current status before committing to a long plan.
Is compounded semaglutide the same as Wegovy?
No. Compounded semaglutide is prepared by a compounding pharmacy and is not an FDA-approved finished drug product. The FDA does not review it for safety, effectiveness or quality, and formulations often include additives such as B12 or glycine that are not in the approved product.
Can I get semaglutide as a pill instead of an injection?
Yes, through several routes. NovoCare sells the FDA-approved Wegovy and Ozempic pills from $149/mo. On the compounded side, Midi Health offers sublingual GLP-1 from $164 per 4-week supply, Willow offers oral tablets, and Nurx offers compounded oral semaglutide from $60/mo.
Keep comparing
Medical disclaimer
This page is general information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious potential risks and are not right for everyone. Talk to a licensed healthcare professional about your own medical history before starting, stopping, or changing treatment. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Pricing and policies change frequently — confirm current details with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: August 3, 2026