Needle aversion is a real and common reason people never start GLP-1 treatment, and until recently the options were poor. That has changed on two fronts. Novo Nordisk's oral semaglutide is now available as an FDA-approved pill at $149 a month direct, and Eli Lilly's orforglipron — sold as Foundayo — has arrived as a new oral GLP-1 that does not require the food and water restrictions of earlier oral semaglutide.
Separately, the compounded market has built out oral and sublingual formulations: drops and tablets you take daily instead of injecting weekly. These are cheaper still in some cases, but they carry an extra layer of uncertainty. Compounded products are not FDA-approved, and an oral compounded formulation has an additional question mark over it — the clinical trial evidence for GLP-1 weight loss was generated with specific approved formulations at specific doses, and a compounded oral preparation is not those.
So the honest framing is: if you want a needle-free GLP-1 with evidence behind it, the FDA-approved pills are the answer, and they are now affordable. If you want the cheapest needle-free option and accept the regulatory trade-off, the compounded oral and sublingual routes exist.
How we ranked these
- Whether the oral product is FDA-approved or compounded
- Real monthly cost including any membership fee
- Whether both oral and injectable options are available in one program, so you can switch
- Clinical support included with the prescription
- Insurance, HSA/FSA and savings-program eligibility
We do not rank on star ratings for these providers because we do not collect verified patient reviews for them. Rankings reflect published pricing, fee structure, policy transparency and medication type only. See our full methodology and affiliate disclosure.
The ranking
Why it ranks here: The strongest needle-free option: FDA-approved Wegovy and Ozempic pills at $149/mo direct from Novo Nordisk, free home delivery, no membership, and as little as $25/mo for eligible commercially insured patients.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Both self-pay and insurance routes are supported.
Why it ranks here: The FDA-approved Wegovy oral pill at $149/mo cash rising to about $299 at higher doses, or as little as $25 with insurance, with no monthly or sign-up fees and same-day delivery in many areas.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Amazon Pharmacy states it accepts most insurance plans.
Why it ranks here: The best compounded sublingual route: GLP-1 sublingual from $164 and dual-action GLP-1/GIP sublingual from $209 per 4-week supply, shipping included, no membership fee, prescribed by menopause specialists.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Midi is in-network with most PPO plans for visits.
Why it ranks here: Covers oral Wegovy and Foundayo (orforglipron) through insurance, with Foundayo self-pay from $149/mo and as little as $25/mo with savings offers. Four states only.
- Membership:
- $49/mo for self-pay patients; $9 for the first month when paying with insurance.
- Insurance:
- Yes — Shapely's core model is pursuing insurance coverage for brand-name GLP-1s, listing oral Wegovy, Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound, Mounjaro, Foundayo and Contrave as insurance-accepted.
Why it ranks here: Both the Wegovy Pill and the Foundayo Pill from $149/mo, plus a daily oral compounded GLP-1 option, inside a physician-led program for midlife women. $99/mo membership applies.
- Membership:
- $99/mo, with $50 off the first month for new customers using code STARTGLP1.
- Insurance:
- Not stated on the weight page.
Why it ranks here: Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide as oral and sublingual tablets inside a flat $299/mo all-in price, with a clearly stated refund window. 34 states.
- Membership:
- None stated separately; the monthly program price is the all-in charge.
- Insurance:
- Not stated.
Why it ranks here: The cheapest compounded oral pathway at $60–$329/mo cash for oral treatment plans, with published formulations including semaglutide with B6 and B12. A $79 consult plus $79/mo care fee applies.
- Membership:
- $79/mo ongoing care fee, plus a one-time $79 medical consult fee.
- Insurance:
- Nurx indicates insurance may be usable for oral medications.
Why it ranks here: The Wegovy Pill at $49 for the first month then $98/mo on an annual plan — the lowest brand-name oral pricing we found — plus compounded oral semaglutide and tirzepatide.
- Membership:
- $0.
- Insurance:
- Fridays states that insurance coverage does not include virtual visits for its program.
Why it ranks here: Prescribes oral Wegovy and Foundayo (orforglipron) with insurance accepted at as low as $0 plus copay, and handles prior authorization for you. Self-pay Foundayo from $149/mo.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Yes.
Why it ranks here: Prescribes Rybelsus (oral semaglutide) at a flat $99 consultation with no membership. You buy the medication separately, which pairs well with NovoCare.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- QuickMD states plainly that it does not accept health insurance.
Also considered
- Ivím Health — Offers the Wegovy Pill at $149/mo starting at 1.5 mg, with the $74.99/mo membership billed separately and copays as low as $25 for covered patients.
- Sesame — The Wegovy pill for as little as $149/mo, on a program subscription from $59/mo that includes labs.
- Lemonaid Health — Compounded oral options alongside injectables, with no additional fee for dose changes on a $49/mo membership.
- Doctronic — Prescribes Contrave, an oral non-GLP-1 weight loss medication, at a $39 visit — worth knowing if GLP-1s are not appropriate for you.
Frequently asked questions
Do GLP-1 pills work as well as injections?
It depends on the product and dose. Oral semaglutide and injectable semaglutide are the same molecule but are absorbed differently and are dosed on different scales. The FDA-approved oral products were approved on their own trial evidence. Compounded oral and sublingual preparations do not have that evidence base — the trial data was generated with the approved products.
What is Foundayo (orforglipron)?
Foundayo is Eli Lilly's orforglipron, a newer oral GLP-1. Unlike earlier oral semaglutide it is a small-molecule drug, which removes the food and water timing restrictions. Providers including Shapely, Klarity-style platforms, Alloy and Klinic list it, with self-pay pricing from around $149/mo and as little as $25/mo with savings offers.
What is the cheapest needle-free GLP-1?
For FDA-approved medication, the Wegovy pill at $149/mo from NovoCare Pharmacy or Amazon Pharmacy — or $25/mo if you have commercial insurance covering GLP-1s. Fridays advertises $49 for the first month and $98/mo on an annual plan. For compounded, Nurx's oral plans start at $60/mo cash.
Are compounded oral GLP-1 drops safe?
Compounded products are not FDA-approved and the FDA does not review them for safety, effectiveness or quality. Sublingual and oral compounded GLP-1s carry the additional uncertainty that absorption differs from the injectable route the clinical evidence was built on. Discuss this specifically with your prescriber.
Keep comparing
Medical disclaimer
This page is general information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious potential risks and are not right for everyone. Talk to a licensed healthcare professional about your own medical history before starting, stopping, or changing treatment. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Pricing and policies change frequently — confirm current details with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: August 3, 2026