NovoCare Pharmacy Review
Novo Nordisk's direct-to-patient pharmacy for Wegovy and Ozempic
Independently researched · Last reviewed August 3, 2026
Quick Summary
Overview
NovoCare Pharmacy is Novo Nordisk's own direct-to-patient channel, and it changes the arithmetic of this entire category. For years the argument for compounded semaglutide was that brand-name Wegovy cost over $1,000 a month. NovoCare now lists self-pay pricing starting at $149 per month for the Wegovy or Ozempic pill and $199 per month for the pen — putting FDA-approved semaglutide in the same price band as many compounded programs.
This is the real medication, made by the company that developed it, dispensed through a licensed pharmacy (CoAssist Pharmacy is named as a dispensing pharmacy for NovoCare) with free home delivery. There is no compounding, no unapproved formulation, and no questions about potency or sterility of a third-party preparation.
For patients with commercial insurance that covers GLP-1 medicines, NovoCare's savings offer can bring cost as low as $25 per month for up to three months, with a $100 maximum monthly saving. Government beneficiaries are excluded from that offer. Separately, Novo has a Medicare GLP-1 Bridge program under which eligible Medicare patients pay $50 per month for Wegovy.
The important limitation: NovoCare is a pharmacy, not a care program. It does not provide coaching, dietitian access or ongoing clinical management, and all doses require a prescription. You need a prescriber — your own physician or a telehealth service — before NovoCare is relevant to you.
How NovoCare Pharmacy Works
Medications Offered
- Wegovy (semaglutide) — pill and injection pen
- Ozempic (semaglutide) — pill and injection pen
FDA-approved brand-name medication manufactured by Novo Nordisk. No compounded product is involved.
Program Details
- Consultation process
- None provided. NovoCare Pharmacy dispenses against an existing prescription; you must obtain that prescription elsewhere.
- Eligibility
- A valid prescription is required for all doses. The $25/month savings offer requires commercial insurance that covers GLP-1 medicines and excludes government beneficiaries.
- Where it operates
- Novo Nordisk's direct-to-patient pharmacy with free home delivery; no state restriction published.
- Provider involvement
- None. NovoCare is a dispensing channel, not a clinical program. Your prescriber manages your care.
- Lab requirements
- Not applicable; determined by your own prescriber.
- Pharmacy fulfillment
- Novo Nordisk's direct-to-patient pharmacy. CoAssist Pharmacy is named as a dispensing pharmacy for NovoCare Pharmacy.
- Shipping
- Free home delivery.
- Support services
- Pharmacy and savings-program support; no clinical coaching or care management.
NovoCare Pharmacy Pricing
Prices below are what NovoCare Pharmacy published on its own site as of August 3, 2026. Pricing in this category changes often — confirm current rates before you buy.
| Plan or item | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Wegovy pill — self-pay | From $149/mo | — |
| Wegovy pen — self-pay | From $199/mo | — |
| Ozempic pill — self-pay | From $149/mo | — |
| Ozempic pen — self-pay | From $199/mo | — |
| With commercial coverage | As little as $25/mo | Up to 3 months; $100 max monthly saving; government beneficiaries excluded |
| Wegovy pen introductory | $199/mo at 0.25 mg and 0.5 mg | 2 fills, through December 31, 2026 |
| Medicare GLP-1 Bridge (Wegovy) | $50/mo | Eligible Medicare patients |
Fees, Billing and Policies
- Membership fee
- None. NovoCare is a pharmacy, not a subscription program.
- Medication fees
- You pay for the medication only, at the self-pay prices published above.
- Cancellation policy
- Not applicable — there is no subscription to cancel.
- Refund policy
- Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
- Insurance
- Both self-pay and insurance routes are supported. The $25/month offer requires commercial insurance that covers GLP-1 medicines.
- HSA / FSA
- Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- FDA-approved medication direct from the manufacturer — no compounding risk
- Self-pay pricing now competitive with compounded programs ($149–$199/mo)
- Free home delivery
- As little as $25/mo for eligible commercially insured patients
- $50/mo Medicare GLP-1 Bridge pricing for eligible Medicare patients
- No membership fee layered on top
Cons
- No clinical program — you must already have a prescriber
- No coaching, dietitian or care management
- Government beneficiaries excluded from the $25/mo commercial offer
- Refund policy not published
- Semaglutide only — no tirzepatide
Who It May Be Best For
Anyone who already has (or can easily get) a prescription for Wegovy or Ozempic and wants FDA-approved medication at a price that now competes with compounded alternatives.
Limitations
- Dispensing only — no clinical support
- Limited to Novo Nordisk's semaglutide products
- Savings offers carry eligibility conditions and expiry dates
Alternatives to NovoCare Pharmacy
- LillyDirect — The equivalent manufacturer-direct route for tirzepatide (Zepbound)
- QuickMD — A $99 consultation to obtain the prescription NovoCare requires
- Klinic — Prescribing plus prior-authorization support if you want insurance to pay
Still comparing? See our best online GLP-1 providers and cheapest GLP-1 programs rankings.
NovoCare Pharmacy FAQs
Is NovoCare Pharmacy legitimate?
Yes. It is Novo Nordisk's own direct-to-patient pharmacy channel dispensing FDA-approved Wegovy and Ozempic, with CoAssist Pharmacy named as a dispensing pharmacy.
How much does Wegovy cost through NovoCare?
Self-pay pricing starts at $149/mo for the pill and $199/mo for the pen. With commercial insurance that covers GLP-1 medicines, the savings offer can bring it as low as $25/mo for up to three months.
Do I need a prescription?
Yes. NovoCare states all doses of Wegovy and Ozempic require a prescription. It does not provide the consultation — you need your own prescriber or a telehealth service.
Is compounded semaglutide still cheaper?
Not necessarily. With NovoCare pricing at $149–$199/mo for FDA-approved semaglutide, many compounded programs are no longer meaningfully cheaper once membership fees are counted.
Sources for This Review
Every figure and policy above was taken from the pages below on August 3, 2026. Where a company does not publish something, this review says so rather than estimating.
Medical Disclaimer
This review is for general information only and is not medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious potential risks and are not appropriate for everyone. Talk to a licensed healthcare professional about your own medical history before starting, stopping, or changing any treatment, and never disregard professional medical advice because of something you read here. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Pricing, availability, and company policies change frequently — verify current details directly with the provider.
We may earn a commission from some links on this page. See our affiliate disclosure and review methodology.
Date reviewed: August 3, 2026
NovoCare Pharmacy at a Glance
- Medication type
- Brand-name (FDA-approved)
- Membership fee
- None. NovoCare is a pharmacy, not a subscription program.
- Insurance
- Both self-pay and insurance routes are supported. The $25/month offer requires commercial insurance that covers GLP-1 medicines.
- HSA / FSA
- Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
Our Top Pick: For transparent compounded GLP-1 pricing with a dedicated patient-success team, we recommend CoreAge Rx.
Compare NovoCare Pharmacy against every other option
We track pricing, medication type, fees and policies across dozens of GLP-1 providers.