Doctronic Review
$39 visits, insurance accepted, all 50 states
Independently researched · Last reviewed August 3, 2026
Quick Summary
Overview
Doctronic is the cheapest prescribing visit we have found anywhere in this market at $39, which is less than half QuickMD's $99. That single fact makes it worth knowing about, because the cheapest route to FDA-approved medication is increasingly a low-cost consultation paired with a manufacturer-direct pharmacy.
The model pairs an AI intake — the company markets an "AI Doctor" chat for initial assessment — with a subsequent telehealth appointment where a licensed physician makes the actual prescribing decision. Doctronic states its doctors prescribe non-controlled medications in all 50 states plus DC, and it lists FDA-approved options: Wegovy, Zepbound, Saxenda and Contrave.
It accepts all major US insurance providers including Aetna, Anthem, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Cigna, Humana, Kaiser Permanente, Molina, Oscar and United Healthcare, accepts FSA and HSA, and offers a 100% money-back guarantee on self-pay visits — "if you're not happy, we'll refund your payment." Prescription refills are advertised starting as low as $0.
The AI element deserves scrutiny rather than dismissal. Doctronic's own research on AI-driven prescription renewals drew criticism in The Washington Post in March 2026, which noted the study had not been peer-reviewed, that all eight authors held equity in the company, and that its ethics review was conducted by an internal committee. A JAMA Health Forum article also examined Utah's experiment with AI-driven prescription renewals involving the company. None of that means the service is unsafe — a licensed physician still prescribes — but if you would rather a human conduct the entire assessment, this is not the model for you.
How Doctronic Works
Medications Offered
- Wegovy (semaglutide injection)
- Zepbound (tirzepatide injection)
- Saxenda (liraglutide injection)
- Contrave (naltrexone-bupropion, oral)
FDA-approved brand-name medications. Doctronic does not state that compounded products are offered.
Program Details
- Consultation process
- An AI chat assessment followed by a telehealth appointment with a licensed doctor who makes the prescribing decision. Visits are $39.
- Eligibility
- Adults 18 and over in any U.S. state, with a BMI or health profile appropriate for treatment. Physicians determine candidacy based on health history and related conditions.
- Where it operates
- States its doctors prescribe non-controlled medications in all 50 states plus DC.
- Provider involvement
- Licensed physicians prescribe non-controlled medications in all 50 states plus DC. The AI handles initial assessment, not prescribing.
- Lab requirements
- Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
- Pharmacy fulfillment
- Not stated. Prescriptions are filled through standard pharmacy channels.
- Shipping
- Not stated — Doctronic does not dispense medication.
- Support services
- Visit-based care with refills advertised starting as low as $0.
Doctronic Pricing
Prices below are what Doctronic published on its own site as of August 3, 2026. Pricing in this category changes often — confirm current rates before you buy.
| Plan or item | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Doctor visit | $39/visit | — |
| Prescription refills | Starting as low as $0 | — |
| Membership fee | Not stated | No membership is advertised |
| Medication | Paid separately | At your pharmacy or via insurance |
Fees, Billing and Policies
- Membership fee
- Not stated. Doctronic advertises per-visit pricing rather than a subscription.
- Medication fees
- Medication is not included in the visit fee and is paid separately.
- Cancellation policy
- Not applicable in a subscription sense.
- Refund policy
- Doctronic advertises a 100% money-back guarantee when you self-pay: if you are not happy, it will refund your payment.
- Insurance
- Doctronic states it accepts all major U.S. insurance providers, listing Aetna, Anthem, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Cigna, Humana, Kaiser Permanente, Molina Healthcare, Oscar Health and United Healthcare.
- HSA / FSA
- Doctronic states FSA and HSA are accepted.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- The cheapest prescribing visit we found at $39 — under half the next cheapest
- Available in all 50 states plus DC
- Accepts all major insurance providers, plus FSA and HSA
- 100% money-back guarantee on self-pay visits
- FDA-approved medications only, prescribed by a licensed physician
- Refills advertised as low as $0
Cons
- The AI-first intake model has drawn published criticism, including a March 2026 Washington Post piece noting the company's own study was not peer-reviewed and that all eight authors held equity
- No medication supply, coaching or weight-management program
- Pharmacy fulfillment, shipping and lab policies are not published
- No compounded option
Who It May Be Best For
Cost-conscious, self-directed patients who want the cheapest possible route to a legitimate prescription and intend to fill it at a manufacturer-direct pharmacy, and who are comfortable with an AI-assisted intake.
Limitations
- Prescribing service rather than a weight-management program
- AI-assisted assessment will not suit everyone
- No compounded pathway
Alternatives to Doctronic
- QuickMD — Fully human $99 visit with the same prescribe-and-route model
- NovoCare Pharmacy — Where to fill a semaglutide prescription cheaply afterwards
- Klinic — Handles prior authorization if you want insurance to cover the medication
Still comparing? See our best online GLP-1 providers and cheapest GLP-1 programs rankings.
Doctronic FAQs
How much does Doctronic cost?
$39 per doctor visit, with prescription refills advertised starting as low as $0. Medication is paid separately at your pharmacy or through insurance.
Does an AI prescribe my medication?
No. Doctronic uses an AI chat for initial assessment, but states a licensed doctor conducts the telehealth appointment and prescribes. Its AI prescription-renewal research has nonetheless drawn published criticism.
Does Doctronic take insurance?
Yes. It states it accepts all major U.S. insurance providers including Aetna, Anthem, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Cigna, Humana, Kaiser Permanente, Molina, Oscar and United Healthcare, plus FSA and HSA.
Which medications can Doctronic prescribe?
FDA-approved options including Wegovy, Zepbound, Saxenda and Contrave. Its doctors prescribe non-controlled medications in all 50 states plus DC.
Sources for This Review
Every figure and policy above was taken from the pages below on August 3, 2026. Where a company does not publish something, this review says so rather than estimating.
Medical Disclaimer
This review is for general information only and is not medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious potential risks and are not appropriate for everyone. Talk to a licensed healthcare professional about your own medical history before starting, stopping, or changing any treatment, and never disregard professional medical advice because of something you read here. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Pricing, availability, and company policies change frequently — verify current details directly with the provider.
We may earn a commission from some links on this page. See our affiliate disclosure and review methodology.
Date reviewed: August 3, 2026
Doctronic at a Glance
- Medication type
- Brand-name (FDA-approved)
- Membership fee
- Not stated. Doctronic advertises per-visit pricing rather than a subscription.
- Insurance
- Doctronic states it accepts all major U.S. insurance providers, listing Aetna, Anthem, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Cigna, Humana, Kaiser Permanente, Molina Healthcare, Oscar Health and United Healthcare.
- HSA / FSA
- Doctronic states FSA and HSA are accepted.
Our Top Pick: For transparent compounded GLP-1 pricing with a dedicated patient-success team, we recommend CoreAge Rx.
Compare Doctronic against every other option
We track pricing, medication type, fees and policies across dozens of GLP-1 providers.