Shapely Review
Insurance-first weight loss care with a compounded fallback, four states
Independently researched · Last reviewed August 3, 2026
Quick Summary
Regulatory status of compounded GLP-1s
The FDA declared the semaglutide shortage resolved in February 2025, and on April 30, 2026 proposed to exclude semaglutide, tirzepatide and liraglutide from the 503B bulks list — finding no clinical need for outsourcing facilities to compound them from bulk drug substance. Compounded GLP-1 availability has become unstable, and some platforms have withdrawn these products entirely. Ask any provider on what basis your specific prescription is being compounded.
Read the full regulatory timeline →Overview
Shapely runs an insurance-first model that is comparatively rare in the compounded GLP-1 space. Its primary pitch is getting brand-name medications — oral Wegovy, Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound, Mounjaro, Foundayo and Contrave — covered by your plan so you pay only copays, with a $9 first-month membership when paying with insurance. Compounded medication exists as the cash-pay fallback rather than the headline product.
The membership itself is $49/mo for self-pay patients (reduced from $99 with a $50 first-month discount), and covers monthly video visits with a weight-loss clinician, monthly dietitian visits, unlimited chat support, and a smart scale that tracks weight automatically. Medication and labs are not included.
Lab pricing is unusually transparent: typically covered by insurance with a possible copay, or a flat $75 for patients without coverage.
The hard constraint is geography. Shapely currently serves adults 18 and over in only four states — California, Florida, New York and Texas — so for most of the country it is not an option regardless of how the pricing compares.
How Shapely Works
Medications Offered
- Compounded semaglutide
- Compounded tirzepatide
- Oral Wegovy, Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound, Mounjaro (brand, insurance)
- Foundayo (orforglipron)
- Contrave
Both. Brand-name medications are pursued through insurance; compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are the self-pay option. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are prepared by compounding pharmacies and are not FDA-approved finished drug products. The FDA does not review them for safety, effectiveness, or quality.
Program Details
- Consultation process
- Monthly video visits with a weight-loss clinician, plus monthly dietitian visits, included in the membership.
- Eligibility
- Adults age 18 and older residing in California, Florida, New York or Texas.
- Where it operates
- Serves adults 18 and older in California, Florida, New York and Texas.
- Provider involvement
- Monthly clinician video visits and monthly dietitian visits are included, with unlimited chat support via the app.
- Lab requirements
- Typically covered by insurance, though a copay may apply. For patients without insurance, Shapely offers labs at a flat $75.
- Pharmacy fulfillment
- Brand-name prescriptions run through insurance and retail pharmacy; compounded fulfillment partners are not publicly named.
- Shipping
- Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
- Support services
- Unlimited support via chat and the app, monthly dietitian visits, and a smart scale that tracks weight automatically.
Shapely Pricing
Prices below are what Shapely published on its own site as of August 3, 2026. Pricing in this category changes often — confirm current rates before you buy.
| Plan or item | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Membership — self-pay | $49/mo | Reduced from $99; $50 off first month |
| Membership — with insurance | $9 first month | Then copays only for medication |
| Compounded semaglutide | From $99/mo | — |
| Compounded tirzepatide | From $166/mo | — |
| Labs without insurance | $75 flat | — |
| Foundayo (orforglipron) | From $149/mo self-pay | As little as $25/mo with savings offers |
Fees, Billing and Policies
- Membership fee
- $49/mo for self-pay patients; $9 for the first month when paying with insurance. Medication and labs are billed separately.
- Medication fees
- Compounded semaglutide from $99/mo and tirzepatide from $166/mo. Brand-name medication cost depends on your insurance.
- Cancellation policy
- Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
- Refund policy
- Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
- Insurance
- Yes — Shapely's core model is pursuing insurance coverage for brand-name GLP-1s, listing oral Wegovy, Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound, Mounjaro, Foundayo and Contrave as insurance-accepted.
- HSA / FSA
- Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Genuinely insurance-first rather than compounded-only
- Low $49/mo membership with dietitian visits and a smart scale included
- Transparent $75 flat lab price for uninsured patients
- Compounded pricing is competitive as a fallback ($99 semaglutide)
- Covers both brand-name injectables and newer oral options
Cons
- Available in only four states — CA, FL, NY and TX
- Membership is charged on top of medication cost
- Cancellation, refund, shipping and HSA/FSA terms are not published
- Compounded pharmacy partners are not named
Who It May Be Best For
Patients in California, Florida, New York or Texas who have insurance that might cover a brand-name GLP-1 and want a clinician to actually pursue that coverage, with compounded medication as a backup.
Limitations
- Four-state footprint
- Compounded products are not FDA-approved
- Membership fee is separate from medication cost
Alternatives to Shapely
- Klinic — Insurance-accepting and handles prior authorization, wider footprint
- Form Health — Insurance-based obesity medicine with dietitian visits nationwide
- Alloy Women's Health — Membership-plus-medication model with both brand and compounded
Still comparing? See our best online GLP-1 providers and cheapest GLP-1 programs rankings.
Shapely FAQs
Which states does Shapely serve?
Shapely states it currently serves adults age 18 and older in California, Florida, New York and Texas.
How much is Shapely's membership?
$49/mo for self-pay patients (reduced from $99, with $50 off the first month), or $9 for the first month when paying with insurance.
What does the membership include?
Monthly video visits with a weight-loss clinician, monthly dietitian visits, unlimited chat and app support, and a smart scale. Medication and labs are not included.
What do labs cost?
Labs are typically covered by insurance with a possible copay. Without insurance, Shapely offers a flat rate of $75.
Sources for This Review
Every figure and policy above was taken from the pages below on August 3, 2026. Where a company does not publish something, this review says so rather than estimating.
Medical Disclaimer
This review is for general information only and is not medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious potential risks and are not appropriate for everyone. Talk to a licensed healthcare professional about your own medical history before starting, stopping, or changing any treatment, and never disregard professional medical advice because of something you read here. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Pricing, availability, and company policies change frequently — verify current details directly with the provider.
We may earn a commission from some links on this page. See our affiliate disclosure and review methodology.
Date reviewed: August 3, 2026
Shapely at a Glance
- Medication type
- Compounded and brand-name
- Membership fee
- $49/mo for self-pay patients; $9 for the first month when paying with insurance. Medication and labs are billed separately.
- Insurance
- Yes — Shapely's core model is pursuing insurance coverage for brand-name GLP-1s, listing oral Wegovy, Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound, Mounjaro, Foundayo and Contrave as insurance-accepted.
- HSA / FSA
- Not stated on the pages we reviewed.
Our Top Pick: For transparent compounded GLP-1 pricing with a dedicated patient-success team, we recommend CoreAge Rx.
Compare Shapely against every other option
We track pricing, medication type, fees and policies across dozens of GLP-1 providers.