This is the question the entire compounded market was built on, and the answer has changed. In 2023, brand-name semaglutide cost over $1,000 a month and compounded cost $200 — the choice made itself.
Novo Nordisk now sells FDA-approved Wegovy and Ozempic direct from $149 a month. Trimi, the cheapest flat-rate compounded programme we found, charges $99. That is a $50 gap, not a $800 one — and $50 buys you FDA review of safety, effectiveness and quality.
NovoCare Pharmacy
Novo Nordisk's direct-to-patient pharmacy for Wegovy and Ozempic
Trimi
$99 compounded semaglutide with every dose at the same price
Where they actually differ
| NovoCare Pharmacy | Trimi | |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly cost | $149 (pill) / $199 (pen) | $99, flat at every dose |
| With commercial insurance | As little as $25/mo for up to 3 months | Not applicable — cash-pay only |
| Medicare | $50/mo via Medicare GLP-1 Bridge | Not applicable |
| FDA approved | Yes | No — compounded, not reviewed by the FDA |
| Regulatory outlook | Stable | FDA proposed excluding these molecules from the 503B bulks list in April 2026 |
| Prescription included | No — you supply it | Yes — clinician visits included |
| Clinical support | None; it is a pharmacy | 24/7 provider messaging and check-ins |
| Shipping | Free home delivery | Free overnight, 2–4 days |
Fees and policies side by side
| NovoCare Pharmacy | Trimi | |
|---|---|---|
| Medication type | FDA-approved brand-name | Compounded (not FDA-approved) |
| Membership fee | None. NovoCare is a pharmacy, not a subscription program. | No separate fee. Trimi states one flat membership covers medication, clinician visits, ongoing check-ins and free shipping. |
| Insurance | Both self-pay and insurance routes are supported. The $25/month offer requires commercial insurance that covers GLP-1 medicines. | Not stated. Trimi is structured as a cash-pay program and accepts Visa, Amex, Discover, Klarna, Affirm and Afterpay. |
| HSA / FSA | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. | Trimi states it is FSA and HSA eligible. |
| Cancellation | Not applicable — there is no subscription to cancel. | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. |
| Refunds | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Novo Nordisk's direct-to-patient pharmacy. CoAssist Pharmacy is named as a dispensing pharmacy for NovoCare Pharmacy. | State-licensed compounding pharmacies preparing medication per individual prescription. Trimi does not publicly name them. |
Drawn from each company's own published pages as of August 3, 2026. Where a company does not publish something, it says so rather than showing an estimate.
Choose NovoCare Pharmacy if…
You want the medication that the clinical trials were actually run on, you have any insurance at all, or you simply do not want to think about regulatory risk. Add a $39 Doctronic or $99 QuickMD visit for the prescription and you are still at roughly $188 for month one.
Choose Trimi if…
$50 a month matters to you, you want the prescription and clinical support bundled in, and you accept that compounded products are not FDA-reviewed and that availability may not be stable.
Bottom line
The case for compounded semaglutide is much weaker than it was. At a $50 monthly difference, FDA approval is cheap. If you have insurance, the approved product usually wins outright.
Frequently asked questions
Is compounded semaglutide the same drug as Wegovy?
It contains the same active molecule but is not the same product. It is not FDA-approved, is not reviewed for safety, effectiveness or quality, and compounded formulations often add ingredients such as B12 or glycine that are not in Wegovy.
What is the total first-year difference?
Roughly $1,788 for NovoCare's Wegovy pill plus a one-off consultation of $39–$99, against about $1,188 for Trimi. Call it $600–$700 a year — and far less, or nothing, if you have coverage.
Could compounded semaglutide stop being available?
Possibly. The FDA declared the shortage resolved in February 2025 and proposed permanently excluding semaglutide from the 503B bulks list in April 2026. Several major platforms have already withdrawn it.
Other comparisons
- CoreAge Rx vs Trimi — Which $99 flat-price GLP-1 program should I pick?
- LillyDirect vs Amazon Pharmacy — Where should I fill a Zepbound prescription?
- Trimi vs TrimRx — Trimi or TrimRx — which is which, and which is cheaper?
- Klinic vs DevotedDoc — Who will actually fight my insurance denial?
- Midi Health vs Alloy Women's Health — Which menopause-specialist GLP-1 programme is better value?
Medical disclaimer
This comparison is general information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious potential risks and are not right for everyone. Talk to a licensed healthcare professional about your own medical history before starting, stopping, or changing treatment. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Pricing changes frequently — verify current rates directly. We may earn a commission from some links on this page; see our affiliate disclosure.
Date reviewed: August 3, 2026