Prior authorization is where most insured patients give up on getting a GLP-1 covered. These are the two providers in our review set whose core offer is doing that paperwork for you — and they charge for it in completely different ways.
Klinic bills per visit. DevotedDoc charges a monthly membership. Which is cheaper depends entirely on how long the fight takes.
Klinic
Insurance-accepting telehealth that handles prior authorization for you
DevotedDoc
$99/mo membership with an insurance concierge that fights prior auth
Where they actually differ
| Klinic | DevotedDoc | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Per visit — $99 initial, $75 follow-up | $99/mo membership |
| With insurance | As low as $0 plus copay | Membership charged regardless |
| Prior authorization | Pharmacy support team handles it | Insurance concierge handles it |
| Government insurance | Not stated as excluded | Cannot coordinate coverage for government plans |
| What else is included | The visit | All visits, titration, side-effect management, lab coordination, CBT app |
| Medications | Wegovy, Zepbound, oral Wegovy, Foundayo | Wegovy, Ozempic, Rybelsus, Mounjaro, Zepbound, Saxenda, Trulicity |
| Compounded fallback | No — explicitly declines to prescribe compounded | Not stated |
| Decision speed | Not stated | Eligibility within 2 days |
Fees and policies side by side
| Klinic | DevotedDoc | |
|---|---|---|
| Medication type | FDA-approved brand-name | FDA-approved brand-name |
| Membership fee | None. Klinic charges per visit rather than by subscription. | $99/mo, flexible and cancellable at any time. Cherry financing is available. |
| Insurance | Yes. Klinic accepts major insurance, states patients may pay as low as $0 plus copay, and handles prior authorization. | DevotedDoc checks your insurance for GLP-1 coverage and its insurance concierge handles prior authorization. It states it currently cannot help coordinate coverage for government insurance plans. |
| HSA / FSA | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. |
| Cancellation | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. | Flexible — DevotedDoc states you can cancel any time. |
| Refunds | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Prescriptions are filled through standard pharmacy channels; Klinic's team handles benefit verification and prior authorization. | For cash-paying patients, medication ships to the door. Insurance patients fill through pharmacy channels with DevotedDoc navigating. |
Drawn from each company's own published pages as of August 3, 2026. Where a company does not publish something, it says so rather than showing an estimate.
Choose Klinic if…
You expect coverage to come through reasonably quickly, or you want the cheapest possible route. Two visits costs $174 total against DevotedDoc's $99 every month indefinitely.
Choose DevotedDoc if…
You want ongoing structured care rather than just a prescription — titration management, side-effect support, lab coordination and a CBT behavioural app — and you are on commercial insurance.
Bottom line
Klinic is cheaper and works for anyone including government plans. DevotedDoc buys substantially more clinical support, but excludes Medicare and Medicaid coverage coordination.
Frequently asked questions
What if I am on Medicare?
Use Klinic. DevotedDoc states it cannot currently coordinate coverage for government insurance plans. Eligible Medicare patients can also access Wegovy at $50/mo through Novo Nordisk's Medicare GLP-1 Bridge programme.
Is paying for prior authorization help worth it?
Usually yes. If it converts a $1,000/mo retail cost into a $25 copay, almost any fee pays for itself immediately. If your plan has a hard exclusion for weight-management drugs, neither can help.
Is there a cheaper option?
Honest Care sells appeal letters directly — free templates, $79 for a specialist-written appeal — without any ongoing relationship. Worth trying first if you already have a prescriber.
Other comparisons
- CoreAge Rx vs Trimi — Which $99 flat-price GLP-1 program should I pick?
- LillyDirect vs Amazon Pharmacy — Where should I fill a Zepbound prescription?
- Trimi vs TrimRx — Trimi or TrimRx — which is which, and which is cheaper?
- NovoCare Pharmacy vs Trimi — Is compounded semaglutide still worth it versus buying the real thing?
- Midi Health vs Alloy Women's Health — Which menopause-specialist GLP-1 programme is better value?
Medical disclaimer
This comparison is general information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious potential risks and are not right for everyone. Talk to a licensed healthcare professional about your own medical history before starting, stopping, or changing treatment. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Pricing changes frequently — verify current rates directly. We may earn a commission from some links on this page; see our affiliate disclosure.
Date reviewed: August 3, 2026