Both channels sell the identical FDA-approved medication — Eli Lilly's Zepbound — with no membership fee and published per-dose pricing. At the two lowest doses they charge exactly the same. Above that, they diverge sharply, and most people never check.
This is the single most consequential price comparison on this site, because the difference at a therapeutic dose is $250 a month for the same product in the same box.
LillyDirect
Eli Lilly's direct self-pay channel for Zepbound vials and pens
Amazon Pharmacy
Retail pharmacy channel for brand-name GLP-1s with no membership
Where they actually differ
| LillyDirect | Amazon Pharmacy | |
|---|---|---|
| Zepbound 2.5 mg | $299/mo | $299/mo |
| Zepbound 5 mg | $399/mo | $399/mo |
| Zepbound 7.5 mg | $449/mo | $499/mo |
| Zepbound 10–15 mg | $449/mo | $699/mo |
| Condition on the flat rate | Requires refill within 45 days | None stated |
| Semaglutide options | No — Zepbound only | Yes — Wegovy pill from $149/mo |
| Insurance | Self-pay only; savings program is not insurance | Accepts most insurance; Wegovy pill as little as $25 |
| Delivery | Free delivery, or Walmart Pharmacy pickup | All 50 states, same-day in many areas |
| Injection supplies | Needles purchased separately | Not stated |
Fees and policies side by side
| LillyDirect | Amazon Pharmacy | |
|---|---|---|
| Medication type | FDA-approved brand-name | FDA-approved brand-name |
| Membership fee | None. LillyDirect is a dispensing and savings channel, not a subscription. | None. Amazon Pharmacy states it has no monthly or sign-up fees. A Prime membership is not required to fill a prescription. |
| Insurance | These are self-pay prices; insurance is not used for them. The savings program is explicitly described as not insurance. | Amazon Pharmacy states it accepts most insurance plans. Eligible insured customers can pay as little as $25 for a one-month supply of the Wegovy pill. |
| HSA / FSA | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. |
| Cancellation | Not applicable — there is no subscription to cancel. | Not applicable — there is no subscription. |
| Refunds | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. |
| Pharmacy fulfillment | Vials are dispensed exclusively through LillyDirect. KwikPen and vials are also available via Amazon Pharmacy, Prescryptive, Fuze Health, Gifthealth or Walmart Pharmacy. | Amazon Pharmacy dispenses directly. It is also named by Eli Lilly as a fulfillment channel for the Zepbound KwikPen and vials. |
Drawn from each company's own published pages as of August 3, 2026. Where a company does not publish something, it says so rather than showing an estimate.
Choose LillyDirect if…
You are at 7.5 mg or above. LillyDirect's flat $449 saves you $50–$250 a month versus Amazon, and the saving grows as you titrate. Just diarise the 45-day refill window, because that flat rate depends on it.
Choose Amazon Pharmacy if…
You are at 2.5 mg or 5 mg (identical price, and Amazon's same-day delivery is a genuine convenience), you want semaglutide rather than tirzepatide, or you have insurance — Amazon accepts most plans and can get the Wegovy pill to $25.
Bottom line
Identical at low doses; LillyDirect is materially cheaper from 7.5 mg upward. If you have insurance or want semaglutide, Amazon Pharmacy is the more flexible channel.
Frequently asked questions
Is the medication different between the two?
No. Both dispense the same FDA-approved Zepbound manufactured by Eli Lilly. Amazon Pharmacy is named by Lilly as a fulfillment channel for the KwikPen and vials.
Why is Amazon more expensive at higher doses?
LillyDirect applies a flat $449 across 7.5 mg through 15 mg as part of its self-pay program, conditional on refilling within 45 days. Amazon prices each dose separately, reaching $699 at 10 mg and above.
Do I need a prescription for either?
Yes, both. Neither prescribes. Pair either with a low-cost consultation — Doctronic at $39 or QuickMD at $99.
Other comparisons
- CoreAge Rx vs Trimi — Which $99 flat-price GLP-1 program should I pick?
- Trimi vs TrimRx — Trimi or TrimRx — which is which, and which is cheaper?
- NovoCare Pharmacy vs Trimi — Is compounded semaglutide still worth it versus buying the real thing?
- Klinic vs DevotedDoc — Who will actually fight my insurance denial?
- Midi Health vs Alloy Women's Health — Which menopause-specialist GLP-1 programme is better value?
Medical disclaimer
This comparison is general information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious potential risks and are not right for everyone. Talk to a licensed healthcare professional about your own medical history before starting, stopping, or changing treatment. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Pricing changes frequently — verify current rates directly. We may earn a commission from some links on this page; see our affiliate disclosure.
Date reviewed: August 3, 2026