The GLP-1 telehealth boom was built on cash-pay. It is simpler to sell a subscription than to fight a payer, so the overwhelming majority of platforms in this market do not touch insurance at all — Coby Health states plainly it is not in network with any insurance company, QuickMD states it does not accept health insurance, and most compounded programs simply do not mention it.
That is a problem, because if your plan does cover GLP-1 medication, your copay will almost certainly beat any cash-pay program. Copays can be as low as $0. Even where coverage is partial, manufacturer savings offers stack on top: NovoCare's offer brings eligible commercially insured patients to as little as $25 a month for up to three months, and Novo's Medicare GLP-1 Bridge program prices Wegovy at $50 a month for eligible Medicare patients.
The obstacle is prior authorization. Most plans that cover GLP-1s for weight management require it, and the paperwork is where the majority of patients give up. That is why the two providers at the top of this ranking are there: they do that work for you.
Before you pay for anything on this site, check two things. First, whether your employer or health plan already includes a telehealth service — if it includes MDLIVE, your visits may cost $0. Second, whether your pharmacy benefit covers a GLP-1 at all. Those two checks are free and can save you thousands a year.
How we ranked these
- Whether the provider bills insurance directly, or only helps you use it
- Whether it handles prior authorization on your behalf
- Self-pay fallback pricing if coverage is denied
- Whether it covers Medicare and Medicaid or only commercial plans
- Geographic availability
We do not rank on star ratings for these providers because we do not collect verified patient reviews for them. Rankings reflect published pricing, fee structure, policy transparency and medication type only. See our full methodology and affiliate disclosure.
The ranking
Why it ranks here: Its pharmacy support team verifies your benefits and handles prior authorization for you — the single biggest obstacle to insured GLP-1 access. Insurance patients may pay as low as $0 plus copay; self-pay is $99 initial and $75 follow-up.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Yes.
Why it ranks here: An insurance concierge that checks coverage and handles prior authorization, on a $99/mo membership covering all visits, titration, lab coordination and a CBT app. Note it cannot coordinate government insurance plans.
- Membership:
- $99/mo, flexible and cancellable at any time.
- Insurance:
- DevotedDoc checks your insurance for GLP-1 coverage and its insurance concierge handles prior authorization.
Why it ranks here: Accepts most major private insurance and Medicare and bills directly — genuinely rare here — with board-certified obesity medicine clinicians and registered dietitian visits. $299/mo self-pay fallback, HSA/FSA eligible.
- Membership:
- The $299/mo self-pay plan is the program fee.
- Insurance:
- Yes — Form Health accepts most major private insurances and Medicare.
Why it ranks here: If your employer or health plan already includes MDLIVE, your copay may be as low as $0 and some plans include up to six free weight management visits. Check this before paying for anything else. Routine Care visits only.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Yes — this is fundamentally an insurance and employer-benefit channel.
Why it ranks here: States it accepts all major U.S. insurance providers — Aetna, Anthem, BCBS, Cigna, Humana, Kaiser, Molina, Oscar, United — in all 50 states, at $39 per visit self-pay with FSA/HSA accepted.
- Membership:
- Not stated.
- Insurance:
- Doctronic states it accepts all major U.
Why it ranks here: Not a clinic, but the cheapest insured route to medication: as little as $25/mo for eligible commercially insured patients, $50/mo Wegovy through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge program, or $149–$199 self-pay.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Both self-pay and insurance routes are supported.
Why it ranks here: Accepts most insurance plans, with the FDA-approved Wegovy pill as little as $25 for a one-month supply for eligible customers, and no monthly or sign-up fees.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Amazon Pharmacy states it accepts most insurance plans.
Why it ranks here: Genuinely insurance-first: it pursues coverage for brand-name GLP-1s so you pay copays only, with a $9 first-month membership when paying with insurance. California, Florida, New York and Texas.
- Membership:
- $49/mo for self-pay patients; $9 for the first month when paying with insurance.
- Insurance:
- Yes — Shapely's core model is pursuing insurance coverage for brand-name GLP-1s, listing oral Wegovy, Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound, Mounjaro, Foundayo and Contrave as insurance-accepted.
Why it ranks here: In-network with most PPO plans for visits, with insurance-covered visits for qualifying patients. Coverage varies and deductibles, coinsurance and copays may still apply.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Midi is in-network with most PPO plans for visits.
Why it ranks here: Part of the MultiCare health system and accepts most insurance, with a $99 flat visit for uninsured patients and no membership fee. Washington state.
- Membership:
- None.
- Insurance:
- Yes.
Why it ranks here: Indicates insurance may be usable for oral medications, with cash oral plans at $60–$329/mo. Branded injectables are filled at retail price at your pharmacy, so it is not a saving route for those.
- Membership:
- $79/mo ongoing care fee, plus a one-time $79 medical consult fee.
- Insurance:
- Nurx indicates insurance may be usable for oral medications.
Why it ranks here: Not insurance billing, but the closest cash equivalent: Wegovy or Ozempic at $349/mo through Costco Pharmacy and the Wegovy pill from $149/mo, on a subscription from $59/mo that includes labs.
- Membership:
- The weight loss program subscription itself, from $59/mo annual or $99/mo month-to-month.
- Insurance:
- Not stated for the weight loss program.
Also considered
- Klarity Health — Another platform in this space worth checking against your own plan's network.
- Teladoc Health — Like MDLIVE, most often reached through an employer or health plan rather than bought directly.
- Providers that do not take insurance — Coby Health states it is not in network with any insurer. QuickMD states it does not accept health insurance. Lemonaid's weight loss program is cash-pay only. Fridays states insurance does not cover its virtual visits. Most compounded platforms are cash-pay by design.
Frequently asked questions
Does insurance cover GLP-1s for weight loss?
It varies enormously by plan. Many plans cover GLP-1s for type 2 diabetes but exclude them for weight management, and those that do cover weight management usually require prior authorization. Check your pharmacy benefit specifically rather than assuming.
What is prior authorization and why does it matter so much?
It is a requirement that your prescriber justify the medication to your insurer before it will be covered, usually with documentation of BMI, comorbidities and previous weight-loss attempts. It is the most common point at which insured patients abandon GLP-1 treatment, which is why providers that handle it — Klinic and DevotedDoc — are worth more than their fee suggests.
What if I'm on Medicare?
Eligible Medicare patients can access Wegovy at $50 a month through Novo Nordisk's Medicare GLP-1 Bridge program. Note that NovoCare's $25 commercial savings offer excludes government beneficiaries, and DevotedDoc states it cannot coordinate coverage for government insurance plans.
Is it worth paying a membership to get insurance coverage?
Often yes. If a $99/mo membership converts a $1,000/mo medication into a $25 copay, it pays for itself many times over. The calculation only fails if your plan has a hard exclusion for weight-management drugs — in which case a cash-pay compounded or manufacturer-direct route is the better path.
Keep comparing
Medical disclaimer
This page is general information, not medical advice. GLP-1 medications are prescription drugs with serious potential risks and are not right for everyone. Talk to a licensed healthcare professional about your own medical history before starting, stopping, or changing treatment. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Pricing and policies change frequently — confirm current details with the provider before purchasing.
Date reviewed: August 3, 2026